Shoreline Symphonic Winds banner

Our Conductor

Image of Greg Flores
Greg Flores

Greg Flores holds his Masters of Music degree in Instrumental Conducting from the Cole Conservatory of Music on the campus of CSU Long Beach, and studied with Professor Emeritus Larry Curtis and Dr. Johannes Muller-Stosch. Mr. Flores was the Graduate Assistant for the University Symphony Orchestra and the advanced Undergraduate Instrumental Conducting classes. While earning his Bachelor of Music degree in Instrumental Music and Trombone Performance, also from California State University, Long Beach, he was a student of Jeffery Reynolds, Bass Trombone for the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra (now retired).

In 2008, Mr. Flores was appointed Conductor and Musical Director for the Long Beach Community Band. The Shoreline Symphonic Winds, a 60-piece Wind Ensemble, and the Blue Pacific Swing Band are the major ensembles of the Long Beach Community Band.

Prior to his work in Long Beach, Mr. Flores was the Director of Instrumental Music at Kasuo Masuda Middle School in Fountain Valley where he directed the band and orchestra, and was the Associate Director of Instrumental Music at Fountain Valley High School. While at FVHS, his duties included the direction of the marching band, jazz ensemble, percussion ensemble, and conductor of the Wind Ensemble. Mr. Flores was also the director of the music theory program at Fountain Valley High where he developed, instituted and taught both basic music theory and Advanced Placement music theory courses.

Mr. Flores is also an accomplished arranger, an active bass trombonist, and a sought-after clinician and adjudicator. He was recently designated the Tama by Kanstul Marching Brass Product Specialist for Hoshino U.S.A., the parent corporation for Tama Drums and Ibanez Guitars.

Our Board of Directors

The Ensemble


Kim Bemowski

Frank Canlas

Teri Cilurso *

Yakshita Desai

Jing Feng

Diane Golden

Georgia Higgins

Elaine Hochhesier


Lisa Chattler

Adrienne Geffen

Jayne Montemer *

English Horn

Lisa Chattler


Lauren Bergh *

Paul Van Valkenberg


Stan Tyler

E flat Clarinet

Rachel Friedrichs


Harry Bagby

Linda Borla

Ken Brown

Walter Cabrera

Dave Conrad

Susan Coutin

Amy Cramer

Manuel Flores

Daryl Golden *

Michele Goodman

William Langstaff

Horace Leftwich

Alison Levinson

Alicia Orabuena

Sharon Pan

Armanda Pruitt

Karen Zelazo

Alto Clarinet

Sarah Cox

Robert Reyes

Bass Clarinet

Mark Day

Bill Fox

Bill Pernot

Contralto Clarinet

Toni Reid

Alto Saxophone

Keith Conner

Victoria Symmonds

Tenor Saxophone

Laura Lewis

Moises Soncuya

Baritone Saxophone

Paul Baker


Joe Artinger

Ray Clouse

Sheldon Gordon

Wendy Hanson

Mike Lynch

Pat Mullen *

Brandon Pettis

Bob Raemer

C.J. Sams

David Williams

Brad Yamamoto

Binnarie Yokota


Alicia Doyle

Kayla Moxley

Nick Pastis

Liz Royce

Dan Tyler *


John Aulbach

Harold Cannon

Robert Murray

Paul Shivers

Bass Trombone

Don Burns

Don Sawday

Steve Underwood


Rafael Arenas

Jerry Byrd *

Bob Tukua

Sean Yeutter


Leo Dittemore *

Aaron Gordon

Steven McLaren

String Bass

Sean Harvey


Gracie Sprout


Rob Shetland


Noah McKeown

Assistant Conductor

Rob Shetland

Karen Zelazo

* Section Leader